Tracks of the Week- October 25


It's been a busy week, with little time to explore new music. Somehow, however, everything I did listen to was pretty damm good, which is rare these days. So here it goes.

New Shit

1) Empire State of Mind: Jay Z Feat Alicia Keys

I read some mixed reviews of Jay-Z's Blueprint III and given his penchant for inconsistency, I wouldn't have been surprised if it didn't live up to the hype. Having listened to the album, I'd say it's a solid effort….its no Black Album, but the production fresh and upbeat and Jay's flow is still on point. Somewhat surprisingly, Empire State of Mind is the best album on the album by far. It's got a beat characterized by deep driving bass intermixed with a soulful piano loop made by some unknown dude called Al Shux that outshines the work done by established producers like Kanye, Timbaland, and Swizz Beats. Jay loves rhyming about New York, and it shows. While he seems to be going through the motions on some other tracks on the album (the curse of success….what the hell to say that hasn't been said already?), its apparent that he's enjoying himself on this one. Alicia Keys absolutely kills the chorus.

2) Snookered: Dan Deacon

:

I just listened to this about 20 seconds ago and absolutely loved it. My friend Ted told me about it and I'm glad he did. I'm not exactly sure how to describe it….but the sound is dense, rich, and rewarding. I'm going to have to hear it a few times before i can write to much about it .But get this song…trust.

3) The Sparrow Looks Up The Machine: The Flaming Lips

I'm a little hestitant to post this song, because truthfully you should be getting the entire album, which is truly magnificent (I agree with Pitchfork for a change….wow). The Lips manage to pull off a massive sound and still make it sound like a haunting hymn. It's probabally not for everyone, but damn if it aint a sonic party in my headphones right now.

4) The Lisbon Maru- Fuck Buttons

I avoided these guys for a while because I figured that anyone who would call themselves 'Fuck Buttons' must be the ultimate hipster pricks. And indeed it is possible that they are. Fortunately, they're also a cross between a Kompact records producer and a Post Rock group like Explosions in the Sky, and it honestly doesn't get too much better than that. The Lisbon Maru is the kind of song that I'd love to have on my I Pod on the way home after a massive seratonin fueled night out.

From the Vault

and oldie but a goodie

The Sparrow Looks Up At The Machine by The Flaming Lips  
Download now or listen on posterous

102-the_flaming_lips-the_sparrow_looks_up_at_the_machine.mp3 (7586 KB)

The Lisbon Maru by Fuck Buttons  
Download now or listen on posterous

03 The Lisbon Maru.mp3 (13110 KB)

Leave a Reply

